Taiwan: Packing

There aren’t many people that enjoy packing – especially enjoy the challenge of packing light and efficiently.  I do.  I really enjoy planning out exactly what to bring like it’s a game or puzzle to find the perfect amount of clothing where I don’t have too much but I don’t feel like I have too little.

We went to Taiwan for one week.  It was summer, so it was hot and humid.  REALLY humid.  I draw out my outfit options.  It looks like this: FullSizeRender

I don’t know why I do this, but I do.  I like to visualize what I’m bringing.  I have multiple sketches because I go through a lot of options.

The whole point for my packing is that I only bring what I need and nothing else.  I hate having a lot of stuff.  If my hands aren’t free – I’m annoyed.  Therefore I like one backpack and that’s it.  So how do I do this?  I bring items that can be used in multiple outfits and I can re-use items.

IMG_0488

Shirts: 2 t-shirts, 2 tanks, 2 cami/undershirts

Bottoms: 1 pair of shorts, 1 skirt

1 Dress

Bathing suit, pajama shorts (sleep in tank)

3 pairs of shoes (usually this would be too many.  I try to stick to two: tennies and sandals.)

hat, belt, sunglasses, purse for during the day

How did it go: I have to admit that this wasn’t my best packing work.  I think the humidity was a big reason.  The material of my dress was a horrible choice – it was a polyester, synthetic material that sweat showed through instantly.  I tried to wear it one of the first days and had to go back and change.  I lost one of my entire outfits that I planned to wear at least twice and out to dinner.  That left me with only two bottoms that I had to wear for 6 days.  Thankfully I was able to wash my shorts in the sink with some shampoo.  IMG_0493IMG_0717

If you have never packed for a trip with only one bag – try it.  You’ll never go back.

My next packing challenge is our upcoming winter trips to Hong Kong and Japan.  We’ll be doing one week in both countries – and I want to once again bring my one backpack at only 32L.

Leave a Reply

